40 is just another number…

The following views are the opinion of the Blogger and the Blogger alone.

Some people for some reason look at hitting 40 as a terminal ceiling for doing things in life and anything you do after that is either a midlife crisis or you trying to take back your “youth”. For some, age truly is more than just a number. Late bloomers don’t exist in their world or if they do, they might be viewed as losers or people with no drive. I know that sounds pretty harsh but growing up I heard people say this on numerous occasions. Turning 40 was almost considered like it was a death knell.

There is this weird belief that once you hit 40 it’s all downhill from there. When I was a junior in college, I met a guy in one of my classes who was 72yr old senior student and had already lived his life as reporter. He was this man at 72 about to graduate  from art school with a BFA in art. That guy was proof positive that life doesn’t start to end at 40. It just means you are seasoned.

I’ve have gray hair popping up here and there but even though I’m over 40, it doesn’t feel like it to me. I know a ton of people who are amazed to find out that I am over 40. (Not only did my dad give me his name but he also gave me a lot of his genes) My dad doesn’t not look his age. He looks 20 years younger.

I will definitely revisit this topic in the future. Maybe I’ll talk about people who didn’t really start living or people who seem ageless. As the old cliche goes, “Your only as old as you feel…”

Leave a Reply

